A couple of weeks ago, I discussed how to incorporate a link into a LinkedIn status update in the new profile design. In the interim, I was asked a question: what’s the difference between sharing a status update with “LinkedIn” vs. sharing it with “Connections”?
It’s actually a lot simpler than it seems. If you select “LinkedIn,” the update will be available to everyone in your extended network including your 1st, 2nd, and 3rd degree connections. Select “connections” and the update will be displayed only to your 1st degree connections. What happens if you select “LinkedIn + Twitter”? Well, it will be shared with your extended network on LinkedIn and your Twitter followers (assuming you have a Twitter account, of course).
As always, if you have any questions, drop a note in the comments.